In what appears to be kind gesture by the company, Netflix announced that it will automatically help users cancel their subscription.
If the user has not used the service for an entire year, Netflix will ask if they wish to keep their subscription. In another two years of inactivity, the company will ask again. If no confirmation has been made then, Netflix will then kill the subscription. Even after cancellation, you will still be able to keep your profile if you sign back up within 10 months. Details such as your favourites and viewing preferences will be retained.
Such inactive accounts make up under 0.5% of the Netflix userbase, according to the company. In any case, Netflix said that users will getting emails or in app notifications telling them about the whole this within the week.